Hard goodbyes

I have a lot of things I wish I could easily say goodbye to. Lately I have come to terms with the fact that the less stuff, e.g clothes I have (and never use!) the harder it will be for me to find a place for all of them when I leave Tampere. I have been considering going to sell my clothes and other stuff in one of the flea markets here in Tampere, but I am not completely happy with their price, service and/or locations. Therefore I was more than happy to sign up for the annual car trunk flea market. I got lucky and scored a bicycle spot, which was maybe even better (and cheaper) than the car trunk spots available.

Breezy weather didn't stop the flea market

I am rather happy with the result of this 4 hour shivering and numbness of toes. For once I did not even circle around the area more than what was on my way to indoors.

Peculiar items on sale

People sold everything from baby clothes to books, antiques and…well…costumes and household appliances.

Interesting salesperson

Some were dressed for the occasion (?)

Finnish people are not accustomed to crowds

Some people might have felt slightly uncomfortable in the crowd, and people with trolleys somehow always seem to be on the way.

I noticed that people were not comfortable with paying as much as they would pay in a “regular” flea market where there are fixed price tags. It was interesting how few people were prepared to haggle for the prices – most of the people just left when they heard the price. Are Finnish people too kind, or just too shy?

I still have a few bags filled with things I don’t want to leave to future me. Maybe a table from a flea market would be a good investment for the income of this event.

Comment

