Cone Bun Wah

The first day I got to explore Manhattan, I walked down Broadway. In few hours I found all of the stores I had been meaning to go to (but did not, except for just a few of them). Some things just never fail – one of them is Urban Outfitters. In my opinion their clothes are a bit too pricey, but the book and other stuff selection – oh my! I just couldn’t leave this behind:

Cone Bun Wah – How to speak Japanese like a true American

They also had a Spanish and Chinese version, but this book will be perfect for my (non-existing) Japanese studies this summer.

The pictures ease the learning process

 

2 weeks in America, and I have not shopped at all. On my exploring day I had to buy a tank top, since it was too hot outside and I only had a long-sleeved shirt, but that doesn’t count as shopping. Today I will be taken to a mall, so maybe I will not return empty handed from this country.

PS: I am not a big fan of freezing cold air conditioning which seems to be default everywhere, but having experienced a train without aircon, I am starting to warm up for it. Also, having music in a train car that has a broken sound system (resulting in constant plimploms and repeating announcement sounds) can improve mental stability.

PPS: Yesterday I had my first Long Island bagels (well, two of them were actually flagels: flat bagels), and I approve. Or maybe it was just the toppings.

 

3 thoughts on “Cone Bun Wah

  1. Although you haven’t yet started your Japanese studies (ganbarou!=do your best/good luck), looking at the title of the book, I noticed it says “konbanha.” That’s the correct “spelling”/romaji (Japanese written in this alphabet). Typically, I (or a slew of other foreigners) would write konbanwa, since that’s the actual pronunciation. A little heads up before you begin~

    1. I have studied Japanese for one course, the elementary basics. So I know the hiragana, and started katakana also. During the summer I have forgotten all of the characters, though, but I hope I will remember them fairly easily. For me, the konbanwa seems more appealing, for some reason. The same goes with all similar words.

      I have not actually eaten a proper bagel in Manhattan. In Long Island, where I stayed for a month, the bagel shops where everywhere – and the fillings included more delicious options than just the regular cream cheese or tuna salad. My favorites so far have been whole wheat flagels with egg white tuna spinach spread. Haven’t tried the Italian tuna, I am not quite sure what it is. Here in Manhattan, in stead of bagel places there are the Delis, that offer just the regular white bagels with different seed sprinkled on top, usually with the aforementioned traditional fillings. Murray’s Bagels seems like a place to go for more variations, though. I am not quite sure if they have flagels…

      I have not tried a bialy here. I haven’t even seen one (I googled for images, didn’t seem familiar at all). Mainly I have been eating in Asian restaurants, maybe that explains it. I have tried one diner, but no delis or more “American” places. Do you have any suggestions?

Comment

