Weekend activities

Mostly thanks to couchsurfing.org, I have been rather active (and social) the past few days.

On Friday, I went to a pole dancing lesson held by a fellow CS member. I met new people (random enough, there was one Finnish girl who happens to be classmates with one of my oldest friends, in another city where I lived), had fun, and learned that I do not have much muscular strength. I knew that already, but it is odd how easy it looks to be upside down hanging on a pole. The class definitely helped me loosen up. Don’t know, if me and the pole will have many encounters any time soon, but it was fun to try!

Saturday I went to Moma ps1 and 5 points in Long Island city. After that, I defied the laws of nature and walked 48 blocks north and 8 avenues east, in heels, to the biggest house party I have ever been. Rough estimate of attendants is around 500. I was in my element behind the bar counter making drinks. Got nice tip (that paid for the cab ride home!), met a lot of new people – win, win! I also wanted to go to a party on the Manhattan bridge, but since the weather was bad, I had the aforementioned uncomfortable shoes (and a mini skirt), the party was good, and I had no clue how to get from Upper East Side to the bridge fairly easily, I decided to hang out with the people I already was with.

Since there is no picture of the rooftop party, here’s the view from Webster’s rooftop.

Not bad for a view, eh?

Sunday activities: picnic in Central Park, followed by coffee and baguettes in a nice cafe, then to home and to NyQuil-spiked sleep at 8.30.

4 thoughts on “Weekend activities

  1. Hey, I just read your post about Webster, would you actually recommend it to someone? What are the pros, cons? Im looking for a room for 4 months and though webster might be a good one, considering the people you could potentially meet! Thanks ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Hello Charlotte, sorry for the reply to take so long.
      Webster is by far one of the weirdest places I have stayed. The pros are the great location and sense of security (no strangers, or men allowed in premises), and I suppose not having to cook your meals can be considered either as a pro or a con. I found the food to be extremely unhealthy and would not like to have that sort of diet – and since you’re paying for the meals and there is no kitchen, you either eat at the house or eat out. If I recall right, the price of living was reasonable, and I did meet some wonderful girls during my stay, however at times (specially meal times) it did seem a bit clicky. I suppose that all depends on the people who are staying, though. In the summer the rooms get very hot, I can’t remember if fans and air cons were allowed or not. During my stay there were a few rather weird older women who clearly had stayed at the house for ages – and I mean ages. I was unlucky to see one room when the door was open, it was disgusting. But everyone to their own, and at least you have a private room with a sink.

      Let me know where you end up staying, I know New York accommodation is a bitch!

      1. Hey, I decided to stay at Webster as I didn’t really find anything suitable. If I really don’t like I hope I can still move out, I don’t think it will be such a big problem to move out, and find something else for a month or so? I am only staying there for 4 months, so it should be ok and during the weekend I might be in different cities. If I don’t like the food, I’ll just have to buy something and take it with me sneakily or so ๐Ÿ˜‰ Let’s hope for the best!

        I also saw you did an internship in Hong Kong, I’m looking to do an internship there for the summer, I’m really hoping to find a summerintership for about 2 months there. Do you have any recommendations?

  2. Webster is definitely a good option if you haven’t found anything reasonable! I would avoid walking alone at night in the Hell’s Kitchen area which is just around the corner. I’m sure you’ll have a blast!

    I was lucky enough to be able to live in Hong Kong for 5 months a few years ago. It was definitely interesting and unlike everything else I’ve experienced! I shared a tiny apartment in Wan Chai area (red light district), which is very central location and as a white woman I didn’t feel threatened by the strip clubs and other similar joints in the area. The thing with Hong Kong is that everywhere is very congested, if you want some space and privacy you need to go to the nature or nearby islands. If you want more Chinese experience, you should live on Kowloon island, just a short ferry trip from the main island. If I went back, I would probably prefer to live in Sai Ying Pun, or then on the Eastern suburbs like Tai Koo or Shau Kei Wan. The public transportation in Hong Kong is extremely efficient and cheap, you can travel on the train from one end of the city to the opposite side for cheaper than you’d go in London from one stop to the next! As to how to find a job, unfortunately I cannot help you. Just go on a tourist visa and if you want to overstay, take a daytrip to Macau. ๐Ÿ˜‰ If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask!

Comment

