Job well done?

I have now almost completed 2 months of the 5 that I am supposed to do practical training for my studies. Today is my last day working for the video messaging service KeepTree and production company Big Media. For the past 8 weeks I have spent my weekdays (excluding Fridays) on the 10th floor of 333 7th avenue.

My desk. Notice the popcorn machine (never used) on the right.

One of my tasks was to get publicity for KeepTree. Therefore, I have spent days and days wandering around the wide Web, contacting exchange student companies, au pair companies, travel blogs, technology blogs, newspapers and basically anything that could possibly write something about the service. I failed on that mission, which has made me doubt myself even more than before.
I have been writing the following sentences over and over again.

KeepTree is an online video messaging service, that allows users to record, save and share videos with whoever, whenever they want. Since there is no simultaneous internet connection required, KeepTree works especially well for exchange students, au pairs, travelers and others abroad and away from home.

With KeepTree, you can record birthday messages, greetings, keep a video journal, or send messages to be received in the future. KeepTree is an easy and convenient way of keeping in touch with your loved ones.

Big Media and KeepTree office

These past weeks I have recorded dozens and dozens of videos to different people, and luckily some have even responded. At first it was hard to see myself on video, but after a while you get used to it. KeepTree turned out to be quite handy, when keeping contact with my closest friends and family. I could imagine using the service while in Japan, though now it feels like I’ve had an overdose for a while.

Work is over – time for holiday! This weekend I will at least attend the NY Summer Streets, and go see Cirque de Soleil. On Tuesday, it’s time for a (long) road (bus) trip!

Comment

