I Scream for Ice Cream (and other cold stuff)

Despite the mostly rather chilly or even freezing temperatures in Finland, Finnish people eat 13,7 liters of ice cream a year. In New York, with temperatures rising to 30’s Celcius (100 F), it is not hard to believe that ice cream (and shaved ice, italian ice, gelato and frozen yogurt) is everywhere to be found.

I have not tried all of the following, since I seem to be most fond of the most dangerous places for a person with bottomless cravings and a limited budget: self serve frozen yogurt stores. My favorite place to get my fix in New York was 16 Handles. Perfection depends on the daily flavors and the combination you create with the toppings, though, but the possibilities of combination are endless!

In Merrick I heard a lot of different ice cream truck tunes, so I wanted to see how many different trucks there are. In Finland, we just have one blue truck that plays the same jingle everywhere.

Mr. Softee is probably the biggest ice cream truck chain. Selection includes ices, cones and soft serve ice cream
YoGo is also popular, serving frozen plain or vanilla yogurt with optional toppings
This truck I have only seen once. The price is over half less than in some other places – wonder why?

Some interesting non-trucks:

Old fashioned ice creams and popsicles for refreshment in Central Park
Coolhaus ice cream sandwiches are upper scale offspring of two traditional treat combinations
People’s pop’s shaved ice with syrup
Big Gay Ice Cream shop had a line of few dozen people, when I visited

In Finland the ice cream market is dominated by two big companies, Valio and Arla Ingman, both offering mainly the basic cream based ice cream in ridiculously high prices. There are some smaller companies, like the ice cream factories of Tampere and Helsinki, but the prices are even higher. If you can buy 4 liters of ice cream from the shop for the price of one scoop, what’s the point? Helsinki is lucky to have I guess 2 frozen yogurt places, but they are the only places in this country, and I haven’t visited either of them. Soft serve ice cream, with three optional flavors (vanilla, strawberry and chocolate, who would have guessed), is available all over.

Couldn’t be happier, even though the homeless guy next to us claimed that we were on his turf

Wonder what kind of delicacies Japan will offer – in New York, Japadog offered ice cream inside hot dog buns and called that Japanese. I know there is green tea ice cream, and I hope froyo is also available!

4 thoughts on “I Scream for Ice Cream (and other cold stuff)

  1. I use to love listening to the chimes of the ice-cream trucks when they were coming around the corner to my house, I so miss this , a childhood memory I guess, where we lived in Christchurch NZ, they were called Mr Whippy & Toni Chimes.

    1. Our ice cream jingle has been the same for my whole life, and who knows how long before that. My old dog used to go nuts when she’d hear the jingle on tv (the company was sponsoring one show, and the jingle came on every commercial break). Living in the city centre in Tampere I did not hear the chimes, so in Merrick it was a familiar surprise, even though the tune was different. Ice cream trucks are a childhood thing, for sure! In Finland they sell mostly huge packs and combos of different ice creams that you can’t buy elsewhere – people stack up on those and the ice cream hopefully lasts for the next 2 weeks until the truck comes again.

Comment

