Last day of summer (and few days after that)

Time to say goodbye to the family before leaving for the unknown, for unknown period of time.

I left to Kuopio, and to our summer house in Vaajasalo, on the last day of August, which is also the last day of summer.

Pittoresque summer house porch

The summer is over, since syyskuu (September) means fall month. I was wearing 3 layers of clothes and, well, it was not too hot.

Chillin' by the fireplace, lookin' hot!
Chillin’ by the fireplace, lookin’ smokin’ hot!

On Saturday I went blueberry picking and had baked a pie before 10 am. In the evening we had a crayfish party, which is an annual fall time fest specially popular among the Swedish Finnish people and in the west coast of Finland. My cousin works in one of the fanciest restaurants in Finland, where the price per crayfish is 12€. My brother ate probably 40 crayfish alone – thank God our food came from local (cray)fishermen!

Whole family together for the first time since…can’t even remember how long!

Sunday was rainy and too much like the crappy fall that I am running away from to Japan. I went to my grandparents’ place, and the plan was to go berry picking on Monday. Due to constant rain, the plans changed to baking and munching comfort food and the berries my grandparents had already picked.

Comfort food to Japan, if I can’t restrain myself!

If I had more self-discipline, I probably could take some of our bakings with me to Japan. Knowing myself, there will be nothing left by next weekend. At least I’ll have memories!

Ps. I also “dropped my winter fur” (swam for the first time this year) on the first day of fall this year! The combination of sauna and icy lake is something special, for sure. At first I was being a sissy, but then the sisu took over.

Comment

