Comeback of summer

Another post about local food – this time something that I thought I would completely miss out on this year!

Yrjölä berry farm in Mahnala, Hämeenkyrö

My summer isn’t complete without (Finnish) strawberries. Usually I’ve gone to a farm to pick strawberries, which is like the perfect buffet – you get to eat as much as your stomach can bear, for free! This year I thought I’d miss the berry picking season, but ha! on Sunday, September 9th, 2012, there still was some perfectly delicious and flavor-bursting strawberries, just hanging in there and waiting for me.

Strawberries in September – my dream come true!

We got one box of strawberries, then moved on to the raspberries, which were aplenty. The weather was summery, although the temperature was breezy +10 C. Good thing I was wearing few layers of clothes!
We skipped the garden blueberries, since the forest ones are tastier, cheaper and healthier, too. The Yrjölä farm also offers different currants and peas for self-picking and to buy, but their season is already over for this year.

Farm fresh produce – we bought quite a bunch of different veggies

Maybe next summer I will be picking more berries – who knows?

The road goes on
2 thoughts on “Comeback of summer

  1. How lucky you are still able to pick berries. They are long gone in Maine, but the fall produce is coming in which makes me just as happy.

    1. There is quite nothing better than seeing how and where your food grows! It still amazes me, how much more expensive the local produce is compared to imported ones. My dream is to have a home with a garden, or at least a balcony where I can grow tomatoes, herbs and other vegetables.

Comment

