School, finally

The first school week is almost over and I am overwhelmed, to say the least. After the first Japanese lecture on Monday morning, I was shocked of the amount of small Asian people all around me, even though I though I had some concept on the population here.

Campus getting busier, summer weather still going on

A good student as I am, I took too many courses. Therefore I am now in the happy situation of having to drop my least favorite ones, and hoping that my university will accept my learning agreement (as if they had a choice). So far, I am considering dropping Introduction to management (Chinese teacher with really poor English), and the rest remains a mystery. Maybe I will just do one extra course for fun. I can hardly call Japanese traditional arts (which means tea ceremony) studying hard, can I?

My schedule every week is first 95 minutes of Japanese, which will probably take the most effort. Then I either have a nice almost 2 hour break, or a lecture on Principles of marketing. After that follows Human Ecology or Social Theory, followed by Business Ethics on Mondays. On the other quarter my Tuesday afternoons will be International Marketing and aforementioned Japanese Traditional Arts.

Study environment

In APU, Wednesdays are a day off for most people – I happen to have Consumer Behavior lecture in the morning. No parties or trips on Tuesdays, then, since the lecturer is pretty strict and the course demands a lot of effort. On Wednesdays there are many clubs, or circles as they are called here, and I will probably post later about them when I find out which I will join.
I am not planning on buying expensive books for just a few weeks use, so it will be interesting to see how I will manage to pass the courses that require books.

I am rather happy with my course selection, although I had few courses in mind that I couldn’t get (like International Management, Media and Pop Culture and Japanese Culture and Society). On the other hand, this amount of courses seems to be more than the average, so maybe it will be ok – at least I’ll have time to put effort on learning Japanese!

Comment

