Inkan, hanko, seal, identity

After a long 3 weeks’ waiting, I am one stamp (pun intended) closer to being Japanese!
My own designed inkan, hanko or seal, finally arrived. According to Wikipedia: A seal, in an East Asian context, is a general name for printing stamps and impressions thereof are used in lieu of signatures in personal documents, office paperwork, contracts, art, or any item requiring acknowledgment or authorship.

Plastic inkan cover, not so fancy. Notice the super kawaii mug on the background!

I wish my inkan was a bit more fancier than just an ugly red plastic tube, but I guess I could find a rather costly and fancy case, if I really wanted to.

Inkan, made from some marble-like material

I got to design my own name in the inkan, which was came as a surprise to me and the result was not completely satisfying. I chose to put my last name in katakana, read vertically from right to left – traditional Japanese way.

Apologies for the low quality and blurriness of the following picture.

If I ever get married and change my name, I will need to get a new inkan

What will I do with my inkan? Stamp anything and everything. Leave my mark in all of the reports I need to do (it’s Monday evening, and I’ve done two this week already)!

Comment

