Kimono

Kawaii kimono style

I was lucky to experience some more traditional Japanese culture – Kimono in Kitsuki city!

Picking the perfect style from various choices of kimono and obi-belts

Wearing a kimono is not just a matter of putting on two-toed white socks, wrapping into a robe and finishing it all off with an obi-belt. The kimono consists of white robe that goes under the kimono, few tight fabric belts to make sure the posture is right, then the kimono that is tightly wrapped, plus the belt and some strings to tie it up. I am sure I missed some parts. Altogether, it took about 20 minutes to get the whole deal on.

Partially the beauty of kimonos is in the combination of the obi and the garment style

After taking a picture in the kimono, I had 3 hours to wander around the historical Kitsuki city and see its’ Samurai houses (which I did not go into, because I wasn’t aware of the free admission for kimonos).

Japanese style harmony

The walking was rather painful in the too small shoes, I might confess. Those Geishas probably didn’t run anywhere, but they sure had good posture!

Say chiizu!

It was fun to wear a kimono – I definitely felt like being someone else. Everyone was saying hello, smiling and complementing me, which never feels too shabby. I was also glad to get the dress off. I would really like to wear a kimono again, if it means that I just have to stand while someone is dressing me like a doll!

One thought on “Kimono

  1. It’s remarkable to pay a quick visit this web site and reading the views of all colleagues regarding this article, while I am also zealous of getting familiarity.

Comment

