Break, 1st quarter: Finnish in Fukuoka

Last week we had quarter break here in APU, so I more than gladly took the chance to get away: first to Kyushu’s biggest city Fukuoka, and from there to South Korea’s capital, Seoul!

It took just two hours from Beppu to Fukuoka by highway bus, watching the beautiful fall scenery. During the two days I saw a lot, and visited all the main “areas”: Tenjin, Hakata and Canal City. It was great to get to a bigger city, and to get to eat good bread and “westernish” food!

More or less lovely Christmas decorations were all over the place

 

Besides roaming around all the department stores and malls, I found something quite peculiar in Fukuoka: The Moomin cafe!

Moomin cafe, selling oh-so familiar Lapin Kulta beer (yuck)

The Moomin shop sold Iittala and Arabia products from Finland as well as other Moomin-related stuff.

The cafe menu was not “Finnish”, even though they had bread rolls that were supposedly made by a Finnish lady whose picture was on the wall. Seeing those white buns, I doubt their Finnish origins. Notice the only Finnish thing on the bottom of the menu: glรถgi, our traditional winter/Christmas drink!

Cute, (over-sweet) dishes featuring Moomin characters

The Moomin cafe had Moomin books in Japanese, and the background music was actually Moomin episodes (nihongo, of course)! The slogan of the cafe is: “Kaikki hauska on hyvรครค vatsalle” which means “Everything fun is good for the stomach”. Cute!

I also stumbled upon this:

Kitchen, selling clothes

Oh yes, I do like Japan, especially the cities. You never know what you might find (in my case, that is not clothes, though)!

Next time, something about Seoul.

Japanese harmony and perfect fall weather

 

5 thoughts on “Break, 1st quarter: Finnish in Fukuoka

  1. Lovely post! Makes me ‘homesick’ for Japan. And we absolutely LOVE Moomins! Look forward to your thoughts on Seoul! It reminds me a bit of Taipei — especially Seoul station! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you so much! What are the things you miss the most in Japan?
      Are Moomins on tv in Japan, or is it “old” thing already?
      Unfortunately, I didn’t go to Seoul station even though it was my intention, so maybe next time!
      I posted about Korean (street)food yesterday, what do you think about the Korean cuisine?

      1. Goodness I miss everything but mainly the food and shopping. Of course also friends extended family, too. ๐Ÿ˜›

        I don’t think Moomins are on telly much anymore. Perhaps in the mornings for children? I believe the anime we all watch now originated in Japan (first the 70s, then the 90s).

        Some of the street food in Korea is ‘interesting’ to say the least. I do love the spicy tofu pots and various side dishes and love good kalbi! ๐Ÿ™‚

      2. I am not sure about now but at least before Moomins aired around 5 pm in Finland (just before/after dinner time). Yes, the animation series is Japanese, which makes people think the whole originates from Japan. The comics came first, though! ๐Ÿ˜› (The Moomin character was born when Tove Janson was mad at her brother and drew an ugly cartoon of him.)

        I do enjoy tokbokki, but generally I prefer less oily food. After a long night out and eating, I definitely felt the consequences the following day. ๐Ÿ˜› Being a vegetarian narrows the options which is not necessarily a bad thing, specially in a buffet! ๐Ÿ˜€

Comment

