Kurisumasu

Prima ballerina
Prima ballerina

Christmas in Japan is not a big deal in the same sense it is in Europe. Of course you can hear the jingles and buy all the very necessary decorations, cards, cookies and chocolates here as well, but the way of spending the holiday is completely different.

Christmas market in Vienna, Austria (2011)
Christmas market in Vienna, Austria (2011)

Christmas markets are abundant all over Europe, and though it’s mostly unnecessary knick knacks and foods they sell, the spirit is indescribable!

In Finland, Christmas is by far my most favorite holiday. It is a time for family, candles, good smells, over eating and staying indoors. Basically what New Year’s is to the Japanese. My first Christmas time away from home has not felt like Christmas at all: being in the mountain isolated from all the commercial stuff has probably been a good thing for me. After Christmas, I will let you know how it went – so far I know that there are things I really miss from Christmas, but also some that I can perfectly do without. I guess the most important thing about the holidays is the company, no matter where you are. But the spirit can easily be lifted with few familiar things!

Satsumas (mikan) and chocolate: essentials for Christmas
Satsumas (mikan) and chocolate: essentials for Christmas

I will let you know how my Japanese Christmas went, after returning from where ever I spend it!

Merii kurisumasu minasan!

Comment

