Paul Yee Mansion

Hong Kong is geographically much smaller than Finland, yet it has more population than all of my beloved motherland doubled. Since there’s a shortage of precious land space, buildings rise high up to the skies. Of course some are more stylish than others, so it is rather interesting to walk in different areas and see the wide variety of architecture.

IMG_6880

I am lucky to live in Wan Chai area, which is also known as the “red light district” of HK. I can walk in peace, but my male roommate sometimes has some eager suggestions when coming home late. Wan Chai is in very central location, and I am within few minutes walk from pretty much everything. Causeway Bay with it’s restaurants and massive shopping is just along the street, and Victoria Park is a nice destination for some nature.

Rather creative infrastructure
Rather creative infrastructure

I share my apartment with my co-trainees. We live in the penthouse of a mansion! My room is not the one called “Harbor view”, but at least I pay the least for rent. I tell you, living in Hong Kong ain’t cheap.

Welcome to the penthouse
Welcome to the penthouse

After arriving to the 14th floor and our house, there is the living room.

Living room, picture taken from the kitchen. Front door next to couch
Living room, picture taken from the kitchen. Front door next to couch

It is definitely interesting to share this apartment with 2 people, since our schedule is pretty much the same and the space and equipment are limited.

Top chef kitchen with washing machine
Top chef kitchen with washing machine

We don’t have a microwave, and the fridge has two shelfs (no freezer). So far it’s been going pretty well! Even though my laundry was in the broken machine for 2 weeks, and we broke our only knife that works. It’s a big difference to the life in APU, here I can (and do) go shopping every day, and the amount of fruits I eat has gone berserk. What I really do miss from AP House is the ofuro.

Our bathroom. Shower is conveniently located on top of the toilet
Our bathroom. Shower is conveniently located on top of the toilet

This apartment is pretty decent in HK standards, from what I’ve heard. At least we have a hot plate and a sink – that’s more than most apartments, apparently.

And what about my room? Well, let’s just say it was too small for the picture. When you stand on the door (which you can’t fully open because of the sofa in the 1st picture), you pretty much hit the bed already. No, it’s not a queen size bed. And that’s pretty much it.

One thought on “Paul Yee Mansion

Comment

