Eastern Easter

I have never celebrated Jesus in Finland (or anywhere else, for that matter), but Easter has had it’s place in my life, mostly in the common egg-shaped, chocolatey form. In Finland, Easter has always been the culmination of spring and everything that’s starting to bloom after the gloomy, harsh winter.

How are things in Hong Kong? Well, there is abundance of chocolate (Western brands leading towards sugar-rush and food coma), and restaurants do offer a variety of Easter brunch, buffets and lambs. My Easter? So far, I’ve gone to pay the rent, and to yoga, sushi buffet (by far the best so far) and a nunnery.

Flashback from Japan, only difference is the skyscrapers
This could be a flashback from Japan, only difference is the skyscrapers

The weather has been rather grey and depressing, lately. Nothing that a Finn hasn’t experienced before, though, so I decided to go out and explore Kowloon city (the rain beat me, Kowloon Walled City Park yet remains to be explored).

Nunnery amidst all the urban infrastructure
Nunnery amidst all the urban infrastructure

From the extremely tranquil and beautiful Nan Lin garden in Diamond Hill, I continued my pilgrimage to Sik Sik Yuen Won Tai Sin temple (yeah, I had to check the name).

Prayers and fortunes, most likely no Jesus involved
Prayers and fortunes, most likely no Jesus involved

What do you do when the rain just won’t stop? Go to have a cup of tea, to the cinema and/or shopping!

Not a bad location for a restaurant
Not a bad location for a (vegetarian) restaurant

Easter is not yet over, and the shops are still filled with bunnies. So far, I am very much pleased with the holidays, even though I haven’t seen the sun, I didn’t get to go to Macau as planned, not to mention Lantau (or finally get to try out my new bikinis!).

PS: I completely forgot that my blog is now 1 year old! Whoa, time flies! I have only 2 months left in Hong Kong…and then, who knows?

Two very happy girls having a very good Easter dinner
Two very happy girls having a very good Easter dinner

Happy holidays, everyone – no matter what, where and how you celebrate!

Comment

