Mui Wo

Calm streets to calm the mind

Another weekend, another destination! This Saturday, I ventured off to Mui Wo, Lantau island.

Many possible directions from Mui Wo
Many possible directions from Mui Wo

Mui Wo is the main destination in Lantau where Star Ferry goes from Central. From there, one can easily go to the main attractions of Lantau, such as Tai O or The Big Buddha (which I still have to go see!). Many hiking trails are also accessible, as well as other nearby islands.

Beach and bbq
Beach and bbq

Besides the beach, I walked along some quiet streets and in a forest – the aim was to find a cave and waterfall, but one wrong turn lead me to a cow and a residential area in stead. Now I have a reason to go there again!

Tai O cows' big brother
Tai O cows’ big brother

It is always great to escape the hassle of the city – I saw banana trees and jackfruit, too! After strolling around for few hours, I decided to sit down by the water and treat myself a nice seafood dinner. One of the most expensive meals I have had turned out to be one of the smallest, and I spent the evening hugging the toilet. I guess you can’t always win. No hard feelings towards Mui Wo, but I won’t be going to the Cooked Food Centre again!

Peaceful water brings peaceful mind
Peaceful water brings peaceful mind
Comment

