Back home

I came back to Finland on Thursday, and somehow it seems as if I never even left! Some things have changed to the better in Tampere, but mostly everything looks scarily familiar. I have been occupying myself with loads of fun things this weekend – coming back has definitely felt like a good decision! Seeing friends and family after almost a year, going to all my favorite places…so far, so good.

View from the balcony: perfect for the morning/afternoon/evening tea
View from the balcony: perfect for the morning/afternoon/evening tea

Besides enjoying the sun and the fact that it is light even at midnight, I have been pleased with the green nature and fresh smells of blooming flowers. I also realized, how much I’ve missed biking around!

My sweet ride
My sweet ride

This weekend I’ve got the chance suit up: first to a graduation party, then to my mom’s birthday brunch, which was in a fancy old-fashioned hotel, serving local food at its’ best.

Something I learned in Asia, doesn't work here
Something I learned in Asia, doesn’t work here

I’ve been to my favorite organic stores to catch up and see all the new things, I’ve visited the farmers’ market and market hall, eaten fresh strawberries, whirl the blender, seen kids drunk on their school ending day…ahh, Tampere! The only thing I am missing is my dog, who is taken care of by my grandma in Kuopio right now. Next week I’ll luckily get her back (probably fatter than ever). Next week I’ll also start a new job, which I am really excited about. More about that later. For now, it’s all about the sun and 28C, no humidity or mosquitos!

Our private "junk" boat on the lake
Our private “junk” boat on the lake

See, Finland is not all that bad, no matter what I might say…

Comment

