Getting there

Helsinki on Sunday 2.11.
Helsinki on Sunday 2.11.

 

I am currently sitting on the stairs of my homestay accommodation I booked in Ubud just the night prior to leaving. The wifi doesn’t cover my balcony, but this isn’t too bad. The journey how I got here was long, and since I only arrived yesterday I have pictures of messy plane food. Enjoy.

I left home after lousy 3 hrs sleep on Tuesday morning at 5 am. Thank God I took a taxi instead of having to wait for a bus without a jacket, I think the temperature was around+1C. First tired mistake at Helsinki airport: I didn’t choose the window seat for my flights. I ended up sitting in the middle on my long flight, meaning not even a glimpse of sweet dreams or any kind of sleep for that matter.

It was chill and rather exciting to wait for the first flight, operated by Finnair. After that, I had a few hours in Schiphol, Amsterdam. Great airport if you have time! I had a few hours before the 11hr sitting to Hong Kong, operated by Cathay Pacific.

When traveling, I usually make sure I book the window seat so at least in theory it is possible to sleep. Not this time, a time I will remember. Well, I got to watch 4 movies (Boyhood – boring, some random romantic not even comedy with Daniel Radcliff – bad, i Origins – interesting but confusing, Begin Again – not so good) and 3 episodes of How I Met Your Mother (laughed out loud).

Hindu meal 1: Marinated chickpeas and salad, spinach bean tabbouleh(?), cardamom infused rice, coconut lentil stew. Fruits, bread roll and a rye?bread, low-fat spread.
Hindu meal 1: Marinated chickpeas and salad, spinach bean tabbouleh(?), cardamom infused rice, coconut lentil stew. Fruits, bread roll and a rye?bread, low-fat spread.

Usually I choose Asian Vegetarian meals for a few reasons: they tend to have more flavor than the lacto-ovo meals, and chances are they’re gluten-free too. Usually the regular vegetarian meal is pasta, so this is definitely a win. Delicious! No salt or pepper provided, but I wouldn’t have needed them, anyway.

Hind breakfast: Apples (3 different kind), rice, eggplant (yum), spinach lentil curry. Strawberry yoghurt, jam, low-fat spread, same bread roll and ryebread.
Hindu breakfast: Apples (3 different kind), rice, eggplant (yum), spinach lentil curry. Strawberry yoghurt, jam, low-fat spread, same bread roll and ryebread.

After these delicious meals we landed in Hong Kong around 7 am local time. Damn I wanted to go visit the city, I felt so homely and nostalgic even just at the airport. Thank God for free Wifi I kept myself occupied until the next and last flight left after 10. By this time I had been awake for like 27hrs, so the last flight went in a haze with one movie (some random with Colin Firth) and food, then dozing off for 2 hrs.

Hindu Meal from HGK to DPS, second breakfast/lunch: Palak paneer(?), tumeric rice, mushrooms and peas, eggplant. Two naan breads not pictured, raita yoghurt sauce, pickled veg, fruit.
Hindu Meal from HGK to DPS, second breakfast/lunch: Palak paneer(?), tumeric rice, mushrooms and peas, eggplant. Two naan breads not pictured, raita yoghurt sauce, pickled veg, fruit. Sorry for the mess.

We landed at 3pm, after which I rushed to pay for my visa and go to immigration. I was surprised that at no point no one asked me my ongoing flight – I only booked my flight to Vietnam because I knew I would be in trouble if I didn’t have any. My friend couldn’t board in the States because of not having the next destination clear and paid for. Go Cathay! After changing to lighter, more +32C suitable clothing, I did another big mistake: all the taxi offerers were so aggressively wanting to give me a ride, I didn’t stop to check the prices online, No buses, only option taxi, over an hours’ drive to Ubud. Did I mention I hadn’t slept for way too long? And it was hot. I learned something from this, though. Always check the price scale in advance.

In the evening I walked around Ubud a bit, then tried to sleep. I slept 1 hour, then woke up and spent the next 5 rolling around in my bed. I guess I had a good 6-7 hrs sleep anyways, and woke up just in time for breakfast in my balcony.

I would love to post more pictures, but posting this has taken me over half an hour already. And it’s definitely not because I’m having a writers’ block.

 

Comment

