mid winter

As my friends and family celebrated Juhannus in Finland, with practically no night at all, here in down under we had the shortest day of the year. It didn’t feel too unbearable (in fact I didn’t even know about it): yesterday was the opening of my new job place, Laneway Greens. After the opening shift I was ‘pretty’ tired and decided to indulge in a bubble bath, followed by 11hrs of solid sleep. Oh boy I needed that sleep!

I have finally managed to find myself a home, one where I don’t have to share everything with 6 Italians or go to my closet of a room through someone else’s bedroom. Getting here a week ago was an interesting adventure, one I hope will never have to happen again. I am happy in Southbank, within walking distance to the city, to work and to all trams and trains. Couldn’t have asked for more (besides a jacuzzi and a gym with free weights, but the outdoors pool in the courtyard will make do).

Shortest day of the year, view from the balcony.
Shortest day of the year, view from the balcony.

Usually midsummer is the time for de-stressing and relaxing, and I must admit that after the past few weeks’ of homelessness and uncertainty with the new work, life is getting on it’s tracks. I have felt way better and more relaxed because of the lovely people and excellent classes at YogaXTC. If I still lived in South Yarra, I would definitely not let go of this gem! Now I need to find new exercise routines, luckily I have some options lined up already.

The best mat sessions.
The best mat sessions.

This winter (HA!) has been the easiest of my life. This afternoon after going grocery shopping in South melbourne market, we had a cup of coffee and laughed about the fact that it is the dead of winter, and it’s 13 degrees and sunny – Better mid winter weather than mid summer weather back home! I can totally handle this. Finland makes one tough.

City view from Northcote, Sunday strolling to my favorite foodstore.
City view from Northcote, Sunday strolling to my favorite foodstore.
Comment

