On Working Hard vs. Hardly Working

There was a time when I got barely 2 days of work per week. The last week or few weeks I have been working more than sleeping or doing anything else. Somehow you adapt to the 12 or 14hr workdays and when you actually have free time, there’s this odd emptiness about what you should be doing to be more productive and as effective as possible. Working in Laneway Greens for the past 4 months has taught me a great deal about over the top cleanliness (it must be the cleanest kitchen in the Southern hemisphere!), dealing with extremely busy service, and to handle stress. I think the biggest learning I’ve got is to let go and not stress about work too much. There are only so many things I can affect, and so many things I can do. After making a mistake, it is best to learn from it, and to let it be. No point in dwelling and feeling like a loser. I think realizing not to stress (oh boy did I stress about anything and everything for a good few months) makes you actually work better. It definitely improves your mood.

I needed more hours and, to be honest variety to just whirring the Vitamix, so I snatched a job in the kitchen (looks more like the setup of a food truck) of a non for profit bar just around the corner from my old job. The place is very relaxed, I am basically my own boss since I’m in the kitchen alone most of the time, and I work with a bunch of people who never say no to a staff meeting (aka shots behind the bar meaning in the kitchen). The job is very social since I’m making the food in front of customers who sit outside, and I think having that aspect is good for me. Doesn’t make me feel so bad about spending my nights at work. And after the shift I can sit down, have a drink (yes the times of sobriety ended as I started working a bar) and go see a gig downstairs. So it’s like having a night out, without actually having to go anywhere. Too easy, as they say.

Summer is coming. I’m riding my bike everywhere. Trying to get a tan, started reading books again. Have grown a muscle next to my knee. Have no time to cook or go shopping, so saving money. Have no time to exercise like a maniac, but still do as much as I can. Exciting things coming up next year! And a new computer soon, so pictures again, yaaay!

Stay chill my friends.

3 thoughts on “On Working Hard vs. Hardly Working

  1. Downtime is so important, especially when you’re super busy. There needs to be balance in life! Great post reflecting on your working habits 🙂 check out our post on the importance of downtime and other ways to spend time to yourself. #InnerKid NA

  2. Hey, I remember working in a kitchen. Definitely the smaller kitchens are more fun. There is less competition to crawl over people for advancement. And less stress leads to much better food. Taking shots behind the shop is an all time favorite pastime. Working as a chef is like visiting a whole other world. One that nobody knows about. I miss the life, but not the pay haha. Looking forward to more photos in your blog!

    1. Thanks Leon, so good to hear from you again! I suppose hospitality becomes kind of a family, where you can get into a nightclub just by saying that you’ve just finished in your bar. Gotta appreciate that!

Comment

